I shouldn't be in class right now. I've been fighting a fever since yesterday, and I'm pretty sure that the university doesn't want people with fevers in class. I normally don't get fevers so I'm wondering if I'm sick from stress or if it's just a bad cold. Either way I'm sure stress had some part to play in it.
I can't miss any class though since I was out all week last week. Finals are coming up and I have an exam this evening for math (which I didn't study for since I was completely out of it yesterday). Everyone at home (and in Japan -Corrinne-) said that I should stay home, but I must get all of my work done that I already missed and I don't want to have to make up more work. I refuse to let it get me down.
I would like to add that yesterday every professor I spoke with privately about my absence had to ask what happened to my brother. It was a bit aggravating since these matters are extremely private and I would like to focus more on what I need to do now to keep myself busy. The details of my brother's death are extremely tragic and something I would not like to tell professors who I will probably never see again. However, my linguistics professor just asked if I was okay and how I was doing since last week. (And if I got the video he wants me to watch.) Interestingly enough, he is the only professor I'm taking a class with next semester. I knew there was a reason why he was my favorite professor (other than his genius).
After linguistics yesterday I got really sick. It was quite embarrassing that I had to run out of the classroom so I could lean over a trashcan as everyone walked by and watch me get sick. I had two friends there for support (thank you so much Clem and Jodi), which made it a little better. I don't think my linguistics professor saw, and there weren't many people who showed up for class. Today I have plenty of water and Gatorade to help keep that from happening again.
When it rains, it pours.
Luckily I have a wonderful umbrella that shows me the stars.
No comments:
Post a Comment