Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Loki

I think Loki is the best villain every in any superhero movie. I really don't see him as a villain, just a victim of the circumstances he was put in. It's a little bit of the nature vs. nurture dilemma. In this case it's a bit of both.

His entire story is really heart breaking in so many ways, and it just seems like he can't catch a break. The poor guy has circumstance upon circumstance build up his character. Throw in the mischievousness that he inherits and you get the explosion of evil. Besides the whole "I want to destroy the world" thing, I really don't see him as evil. Throughout the entire movie I just kept thinking, "What if Thor was placed in his position?" I'm sure Thor would've destroyed the world when he was five, given his temperament. Or maybe if Loki didn't have to pick up the pieces that Thor left after his little rampages. But most of all- he was never really accepted as a son by his "father", and all he ever sought was his approval. With the power he was given and his more sly attitude rather than Thor's blunt force, it's no wonder he ended up that way.
For some reason I can't help but think of Faustus or Paradise Lost when I talk about Loki.
True, Loki did have a choice to turn back and not become the villain (Faustus), but he was also deceived (Paradise Lost).

Naturally I am analyzing a character in a movie way too much.
But given how awesome Loki is, he deserves a little attention.

No comments:

Post a Comment